Using moralis data in a solidity smart contract?

Hello,

I’m a bit new to solidity, so let me know if I am misunderstanding something.

I want to use Moralis data in a Smart Contract. Specifically, I want to run some queries about the data and then determine who would get a prize of AVAX, and store that value on the contract.

I am not sure how to approach this.

I do not want to query this information client-side because I do not want the possibility of the client manipulating it.

So here’s some ideas

1. Query Moralis from the smart contract (Oracle), but I can’t find any tutorials of contracts pulling Moralis API…only things like Chainlink. Not sure if it’s even possible.
  2. Query in cloud code. I saw a thread that seems to say we can run contract function from cloud code, but I don’t see how you could have a client sign a transaction if we are using cloud code. Mostly I see the utility of getting data from the contract…so I don’t know how helpful that would be.
  3. Send the data to the contract on a regular basis. This would be executing a contract function to store data on the contract from moralis.

Are there other options? Which is sensible?

Okay, I guess the answer is user > smart contract > chainlink > cloud function, and back again

I think you might do so by using Get Uint256 Job from Chainlink, which you can search in market.link and have the Cloud function called as a REST API

1 Like

Thanks. I am diving into chainlink now, and it seems either really expensive or really cheap. Lets say i want to grab an object fro moralis, it would cost 1 LINK.

Is that the current price of $17 or $17 divided by 10^18?

1 Like

chainlink will have to make a request on chain, and it will cost gas fees to make that request, so the price should cover at least the gas price for a transaction